All actions outlined will take place at Hotel Suís de Sant Celoni (Barcelona) unless mentioned otherwise.

Wednesday May 19, 2010:

  • 9h Credentials
  • 10h Reception of participants in the Plenary Hall of Sant Celoni city council.
  • 11h Introduction and objectives. J. Llorca (UPC), J.M. Madiedo (UHU) and J. M. Trigo (CSIC-IEEC).
  • 11h 30m Inaugural Conference. Prof. J. Llorca (UPC) “The study in the lab of the last two Spanish falls recovered by the SPMN network: Villalbeto de la Peña and Puerto Lápice"
  • 12h 30m Invited conference. Dr. Javier Licandro (IAC) “Transitional NEOs as sources of meteorites”
  • 16h Excursion to visit Montseny and the station Folgueroles of video detection of fireballs (AAO).
  • 19h 30m Return to Sant Celoni.

Thursday 20 May:

Session I: Astrometry and calculation of meteoroid orbits: links with NEOs and JFCs.

  • 10h 45m Opening
  • 11h Invited talk. Dr. J. M. Trigo-Rodríguez (CSIC-IEEC) “Meteoroids coming from NEOs and JFCs detected by the SPMN network”
  • 12h Contributed talk. J. Lacruz, J. M. Trigo (CSIC-IEEC) and J.M. Madiedo (UHU) “Backward orbital integration of meteoroide: systematic search of progenitor bodies”
  • 12h 30m Contributed talk. Prof. Víctor Lanchares (ULR) “On some problems of orbital dynamics in small particles”.
  • 13h Invited conference. Dr. F. Colas (IMCCE) “Meteor network in France and connection with SPMN”.

Session II: Detection of fireballs, reconstruction of trajectories and distribution ellipses.

  • 16h Invited talk. Prof. J. M. Madiedo (UHU) “Fireball detection by using video detection techniques: predicting meteorite falls”.
  • 17h Contributed talk. Prof. J. A. Docobo, J.M. Andrade and P.P. Campo (USC) “Fireball detecting stations of the Universidade de Santiago de Compostela and the study of daylight bolides with theodolite”.
  • 17h 30m Contributed talk. Prof. J. Zamorano and F. Ocaña (UCM) “Detection of meteors and bolides from the Universidad Complutense de Madrid stations: first results”.
  • 18h Contributed talk. Prof. J. Fabregat (UV) “The SPMN fireball detecting station at the Observatorio Astronómico de la Universidad de Valencia in Aras de los Olmos ”.
  • 18h 15m Ponencia. J.A. de los Reyes (OLAM) “Presentation of the Murcia SPMN video station”.
  • 18h 30m Invited conference. Dr. J. L. Ortiz (IAA-CSIC) “Detection of meteoroid impacts on the lunar surface”.
  • 19h 30m Round table on detection of bolides and meteorite recovery.

Friday 21 May:

Session III: Characterization and search for meteorites.

  • 10h Round table. Planning new meteorite searches.
  • 11h Contributed talk. J. M. Trigo (CSIC-IEEC), J. M. Madiedo (UHU) y J. Llorca (UPC) “SPMN protocol for future meteorite falls”.
  • 11h 30m Contributed talk. Dr. J. de Leon (IAA-CSIC) “The origin of Phaeton asteroid and the Geminids”.
  • 12h Contributed talk. Dr. Mar Tapia (LEGEF-IEC) “Detection and study of bolides by seismic and infasound techniques”.
  • 12h 30m Contributed talk. Dr. René Duffard (IAA-CSIC) “The relationship among achondrites HED and type V asteroids”.
  • 13h Closing Conference. Humberto Campins (UCF) “Detection of ice and organic compounds in asteroids: Implications for the origin of water and life in the Earth”
  • 14h Conclusions and farewell.


  • AAO: Agrupació Astronómica d’Osona, Osona, Vic, Barcelona.
  • CSIC-IEEC: Institut de Ciències de l’Espai-Institut d’Estudis Espacials de Catalunya, Bellaterra, Barcelona.
  • IAA-CSIC: Instituto de Astrofísica de Andalucía, Granada.
  • IAC: Instituto Astrofísico de Canarias, La Laguna, Tenerife.
  • IMCCE: Institut de Mecanique Céleste et de calcul des Éphémérides, Paris, France.
  • LEGEF-IEC: Laboratori d’Estudi Geofísics Eduard Fontseré, Institut d’Estudis Catalans, Barcelona.
  • OLAM: Observatorio Astronómico Municipal de Murcia, La Murta, Murcia.
  • UCF: Physics Department, University of Central Florida, Orlando, Florida, EUA.
  • UCM: Departamento de Astrofísica y Ciencias de la Atmósfera, Universidad Complutense de Madrid, Madrid.
  • UHU: Departamento Ciencias Experimentales, Universidad de Huelva, Huelva.
  • ULR: Departamento de Matemáticas y Computación, Universidad de La Rioja, Logroño.
  • UPC: Institut de Tècniques Energètiques, Universitat Politécnica de Catalunya, Barcelona.
  • USC: Universidade Santiago de Compostela (USC).
  • UV: Observatori Astronòmic UV, Universitat de València, Valencia.